The Research Center for Heteroepitaxy and its Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) is a CNRS research laboratory specialized in the epitaxy of wide bandgap semiconductor materials such as III nitride materials (GaN, AlN), zinc oxide (ZnO), silicon carbide (SiC) and their micro- and nanofabrication in a clean room. CRHEA also studies 2D materials such as graphene, or boron nitride.

The main areas covered by the CRHEA concern the energy transition, the communications of the future, the environment and health. CRHEA also conducts fundamental studies in nanoscience and crystal growth.

High energy bandgap materials are key elements for power electronics, ultra-high frequency electronics, LED-based lighting and new generations of micro-displays. CRHEA visible and ultraviolet light sources have multiple applications for lighting, biophotonics and water purification. CRHEA also develops components in the THz domain, photonic circuits, advanced optical components based on metasurfaces, applications in spintronics, sensors and is involved in the development of quantum technologies.

The laboratory has eight molecular beam epitaxy growth reactors and six vapor phase growth reactors. It also has tools for structural characterization of materials and a clean room for micro and nanofabrication.

CRHEA was behind the creation of two spin-offs (Saint Gobain Lumilog and EasyGaN). It hosts several SMEs (Lumilog, NovaSiC, Klearia and EasyGaN) that benefit from its scientific environment and its technical facilities and collaborate with the laboratory.

CRHEA is a CNRS owned research unit attached mainly to the Institute of Physics and secondarily to the Institute of Engineering Sciences and Systems. The CNRS is a member of the Université Côte d’Azur. The premises of CRHEA are located in the heart of the Sophia-Antipolis technopole in Valbonne, a short distance from Cannes and Nice.

View the CRHEA presentation brochure...

Façade du bâtiment C du CRHEA
The buildings of CRHEA in the heart of the Sophia Antipolis pine forest

Le Centre de Recherche pour l’Hétéro-Epitaxie et ses Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) est un laboratoire de recherche du CNRS spécialisé dans l’épitaxie des matériaux semi-conducteurs à grande bande interdite comme les matériaux nitrures d’éléments III (GaN, AlN), l’oxyde de zinc (ZnO), le carbure de silicium (SiC) et leur micro- et nanofabrication en salle blanche. Le CRHEA étudie également les matériaux 2D comme le graphène, ou le nitrure de bore.

Les grands domaines couverts par le CRHEA concernent la transition énergétique, les communications du futur, l’environnement et la santé. Le CRHEA effectue également des études fondamentales en nanosciences et en croissance cristalline.

Les matériaux à grande énergie de bande interdite sont des éléments clefs pour l’électronique de puissance, l’électronique à très haute fréquence, l’éclairage à base de LEDs et les nouvelles générations de micro-afficheurs. Les sources lasers fonctionnant dans le visible et dans l’Ultra-Violet réalisées au CRHEA ont des applications multiples pour l’éclairage, la biophotonique et pour la purification de l’eau. Le CRHEA développe également des composants dans le domaine THz, des circuits photoniques, des composants optiques avancés à base de métasurfaces, des applications en spintronique, des capteurs et s’implique dans le développement des technologies quantiques.

Le laboratoire dispose de huit réacteurs de croissance par épitaxie par jets moléculaires et de six réacteurs de croissance en phase vapeur. Il dispose également d’outils de caractérisation structurale des matériaux et une salle blanche pour la micro et nanofabrication.

Le CRHEA a été à l’origine de la création de deux spin-offs (Saint Gobain Lumilog et EasyGaN). Il héberge plusieurs PMEs (Lumilog, NovaSiC, Klearia, Softlite et EasyGaN) qui bénéficient de son environnement scientifique et de ses installations techniques et qui collaborent avec le laboratoire.

Le CRHEA est une unité propre de recherche du CNRS rattachée principalement à l’Institut de physique et secondairement à l’Institut des sciences de l’ingénierie et des systèmes. Le CNRS est membre de l’Université Côte d’Azur. Les locaux du CRHEA se situent au cœur de la technopole de Sophia-Antipolis à Valbonne, à courte distance de Cannes et de Nice.

Visualiser la plaquette de présentation du CRHEA...

Façade du bâtiment C du CRHEA
Les bâtiments du CRHEA au coeur de la pinède de Sophia Antipolis